CCTA Riders

About Chittenden County Transportation Authority

The Chittenden County Transportation Authority (CCTA) was chartered in 1973 by the Vermont General Assembly after the private bus operator went out of business. CCTA serves the communities of Burlington, Essex, South Burlington, Shelburne, Williston, Winooski, Milton, Hinesburg, and a portion of Colchester. LINK Express routes serve Montpelier, Middlebury, and St. Albans commuters. CCTA is considered a municipality and is the first and only transit authority in the State of Vermont.

In 2011, CCTA and the Green Mountain Transit Agency (GMTA) became a single unified organization, making CCTA the first and only regional transit authority in the State of Vermont. Outside of Chittenden County, in Washington, Lamoille, Franklin, and Grand Isle Counties, CCTA operates as GMTA and provides a variety of public transportation services including local routes, commuter routes, demand response medical shuttles, and service to elders and persons with disabilities. For more information on the services CCTA provides as GMTA, please go to gmtaride.org

CCTA is currently governed by a 13-member Board of Commissioners, with two commissioners representing Burlington and one commissioner representing each of the following; South Burlington, Winooski, Essex, Shelburne, Williston, Milton, Hinesburg, Washington County, Lamoille County, Franklin County, and Grand Isle County.

Our Mission
The mission of CCTA is to promote and operate safe, convenient, accessible, innovative and sustainable public transportation services in the northwest and central Vermont region that reduce congestion and pollution, encourage transit oriented development and enhance the quality of life for all.

CCTA Services
CCTA offers fixed routes, local commuter routes, LINK Express routes, and ADA paratransit services. CCTA also provides shuttles from senior housing complexes to local supermarkets and neighborhood specials for student transportation to Burlington schools.